Skip to main content Skip to search

Our History


Member Countries

The ESAAG member countries are at present 14, namely, Botswana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe

The East and Southern African Association of Accountants-General (ESAAG) held its 24th Annual International Conference in South Africa on 27 February – 02 March 2017. The guiding theme for the conference was Ensuring transparency and accountability in Public Finance Management

During the 1995 meeting it was resolved to establish an East & Southern African Association of Accountants General (“ESAAG”, hereinafter called “the Association”) in accordance with the status contained herein

The Accountants General of East and Southern Africa met in Maseru, Lesotho in 1992 with a view to; Establishing cooperation between countries in the Region in the field of Government Accounting; Providing a forum for participants to review and discuss comparative experiences; and Encouraging the development of Government Accounting Personnel and Trainers through the implementation of a regional programme of attachment and the production of a number of comparative case studies.